16 Jan Installing an Ignition Interlock Device in Arizona
If you’ve been convicted of a DUI in Chandler, Gilbert or Tempe, the state of Arizona may suspend or revoke your license. After you’ve served your license suspension or revocation, you can apply to regain your driving privileges. This application process involves fulfilling certain requirements including installing an ignition interlock device (IID) on your car before your license can be reinstated.
Common Question About IIDs in Arizona
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
A certified ignition interlock device is a handheld car breathalyzer. Before an individual can start their car, they must breathe into the device. If alcohol is detected, the car will not start. The International Council on Alcohol, Drugs and Traffic Safety report that “Breath alcohol ignition interlock devices, when embedded in a comprehensive monitoring and service program, lead to 40-95% reductions in the rate of repeat DWI1 offenses of convicted DWI offenders.”
What are the Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Arizona?
As of July 2018, the Arizona Legislature passed a law that requires all ignition interlock devices to be equipped with a digital camera, GPS capabilities, and the ability to transmit ignition data electronically. A number of other restrictions pertaining to cars rented to or driven by persons whose driving privileges are limited can be found in Arizona Revised Statute 28-1464.
Where Can I Purchase an Interlock Device in AZ?
A quick search on Google will provide individuals searching for an inexpensive interlock device in Arizona. However, for MVD authorized IID third-party providers we recommend visiting the ADOT website where a full list is provided.
How Much Does an Interlock Cost in AZ?
The costs associated with an IID vary based on factors like the length of time you need the device, the make and model of the car, frequency of compliance reporting required by your home state, etc. The initial fee to install the device ranges from $70 to $150 and a monthly rental fee of $60 to $90 per month.
DUI Lawyer Chandler
Todd Coolidge is a Certified Criminal Law Specialist with over 25 years of experience as a criminal defense attorney. He has handled thousands of DUI cases in Arizona and has the skill, experience, and knowledge to effectively handle your matter. If you are in need of legal counsel related to a DUI or have questions about reinstating your license and installing an ignition interlock device in Arizona, give us a call: 480-264-5111.
Image by piotrpiotrwojcicki from Pixabay (1/16/2020)