24 Apr Driving Without a License in Arizona
In our wide open state, driving is the easiest way to get from point A to point B. And if driving might be your preferred mode of transportation, you need to make sure you have a valid driver’s license.
Driving with an expired, revoked, or suspended license in Arizona can mean harsh penalties for you. So buckle up—and check for your license—before you start your car.
Driving with an Expired, Revoked, or Suspended License Is Illegal
No matter the reason, driving without a valid license can have some hefty consequences. And if you have a previous DUI or have been involved in an accident or another traffic offense, the consequences could wind up being even worse.
Expired or Nonexistent License
When your license expires, it is considered nonexistent. Driving with an expired license is a class 2 misdemeanor, and will often result in the same penalties as driving without a license at all.
The penalties are a maximum of 4 months in jail, over 700 dollars in fines, and up to 2 years probation. These penalties are the maximum allowed for a class 2 misdemeanor, so depending on the case, they may be much less.
However, if you have several similar convictions or were involved in a severe accident, the maximums could be applied along with other charges.
When your license is revoked, it means you are not allowed to operate a motor vehicle until your license is reinstated. The amount of time before you can drive again depends solely on the reason it was revoked in the first place. Offenses involving DUIs or serious accidents often have longer revocation periods than minor hit-and-runs.
Driving with a revoked license is a class 1 misdemeanor. This charge holds a maximum of 6 months in jail, over $2,000 in fines, and up to 3 years probation. If a DUI charge was involved in driving with a revoked license, there can be additional jail time as well.
Driving with a suspended license is similar to driving with a revoked license. One of the biggest differences between the two is that a suspended license can be reinstated without having to reapply.
Like a revoked license, the consequence is a class 1 misdemeanor. Penalties can include a maximum of 6 months in jail, over $2,000 in fines, and up to 3 years probation.
Getting Your License Reinstated in Arizona
If your license is expired, it is important to take the time to get it renewed, as that requires less work than getting a license reinstated. Getting a suspended or revoked license reinstated is simply a matter of waiting the allotted time, meeting reinstatement requirements, and then completing the proper paperwork.
This process can take some time, and it is important to understand that if you are caught driving with a suspended or revoked license during this process, it can stall or derail the reinstatement.
Reinstatement requirements can vary from case to case, but may include:
- Attending mandatory traffic school
- Completing alcohol or drug counseling
- Paying off tickets
- Attending a court hearing
Todd Coolidge Can Help You
A misdemeanor charge can change your life if you are found guilty. While the punishments are not as harsh as those for a felony, they can still be overwhelming to face. Hiring a lawyer who understands the court system, the details of Arizona law, and who has experience fighting DUIs will give you an advantage.
Todd Coolidge has over 25 years of successful criminal defense experience in the Arizona courts. Contact our offices today for a consultation on your case.