Arizona Solicitation and Prostitution Laws

arizona solicitation laws - pretty woman julia roberts

Arizona Solicitation and Prostitution Laws

Last Updated on

Solicitation is an inchoate crime that involves an individual or group seeking out other individuals to participate in a crime that constitutes a felony or misdemeanor. Perhaps the most well-known form of solicitation is prostitution. To this day, the only state that has legalized prostitution in some counties is Nevada. In Arizona, all solicitation of and engagement in prostitution is illegal under the law. 

Arizona Prostitution Laws

As far as a statewide law regarding prostitution, ARS 13-3214 leaves much of the power to cities and counties in Arizona. The statute states that anyone who violates this law by engaging in prostitution will be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor. It then gives cities and towns the freedom to enact and enforce ordinances that suppress and prohibit prostitution providing that the punishment for misdemeanor violations is at least as stringent. 

Arizona Solicitation Laws

In order for solicitation to occur, a request, suggestion or encouragement to complete the crime must take place. It may also involve commanding, forcing, or inducing another person to commit a crime. In Arizona, the law states that solicitation is a class 3 felony if the offense solicited is a class 1 felony; it is a Class 4 felony if the offense solicited is a class 2 felony; and so on.

Phoenix Code 23-52 

As mentioned previously, each city and town has the right to enact and enforce its own ordinances in regard to prostitution and solicitation of a sexual act. Phoenix Code 23-52 adds some detail to ARS 13-3214, but generally follows the same definitions and punishment guidelines. 

Penalties for Violating Phoenix Code 23-52

First violation. An individual convicted of a first violation will be sentenced to serve 15 days in jail and is not eligible for probation or suspension of execution of the sentence. In addition, they will face a fine of up to $2,500

Second violation. An individual convicted of a second violation will be sentenced to serve 30 days in jail and is not eligible for probation or suspension of execution of the sentence. In addition, they will face a fine of up to $2,500

Third violation. An individual convicted of a third violation will be sentenced to serve 60 days in jail and is not eligible for probation or suspension of execution of the sentence. In addition, they will face a fine of up to $2,500.

More than violations. An individual convicted of three or more previous violations is guilty of a class 5 felony and will be sentenced to serve 180 days in jail and is not eligible for probation or suspension of execution of the sentence. In addition, they will face a fine of up to $2,500

Criminal Defense Lawyer in Phoenix

If you’ve been charged with any crime, it’s essential to acquire the best possible legal defense. Todd Coolidge has been practicing criminal law for over three decades and has a record to back it up. If you’ve been charged with solicitation or prostitution under Arizona law, give us a call today for your free consultation.