21 Sep What is the DUI Court Process in Arizona?
In Arizona, the legal limit for blood alcohol content is 0.08 percent. Anything higher than this could result in a DUI charge. During the DUI process, if your license is suspended or revoked, it will result in an Ignition Interlock Device being installed on your dashboard. This device is meant to measure the driver’s sobriety. It prevents the car from starting if alcohol is detected. If installed, the device could remain in the car for about a year.
Fines/Jail Time for a DUI Charge in Arizona
If you are found driving a vehicle, or operating a boat or an aircraft with a blood alcohol content (BAC) higher than 0.08%, you may be issued a DUI (driving under the influence) in Arizona.
For your first offense—in the case of a standard DUI—you could receive up to ten days in jail, a fine of up to $1,500 (minimum is $250), and face having your license suspended for 90 days or revoked for up to a year.
For a second standard offense, your fine will be double (or more). Your jail time could be about three months, and the judge will order community service for 30 hours. Your license will be revoked for a year.
Counseling is required for any DUI charge, as is regular screening of your BAC levels.
Standard vs. Extreme DUI
- A standard DUI is a charge for operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content above 0.08% and below 0.15%.
- An extreme DUI is classified as a blood alcohol content of 0.15% and above. A super extreme DUI is a blood alcohol content of 0.2% or higher.
- An extreme or super extreme DUI comes with even higher penalties.
Arizona’s DUI Process
If faced with a DUI charge in Arizona, here is how the process will break down:
- You will not be placed in jail if it’s your first standard offense. The police may decide to keep you at the station until you can contact someone.
- You will receive the date & time for your hearing in court.
Show up for Court
- Within 24 hours you will have to make an appearance in court.
- You will be told what the amount of your bail is.
- You, or your lawyer, can ask the judge to release you without bail.
- Another appearance in court is required on the day of your arraignment. This is when you will plead guilty, or not guilty, before the court.
- You will be formally charged and receive a fine, community service, or be sentenced to jail time if you plead guilty.
- If your plea is “not guilty” you will have a continued trial.
- In the state of Arizona, your attorney can negotiate on your behalf for a deal.
- If a deal is made with the prosecuting attorney, there will be no trial.
- If no deal is made, the court will proceed to a main trial.
- The state will file a motion.
- Your attorney, or you, will file a motion as well.
- The jury will deliberate and decide on a sentence.
- If needed, you may appeal the decision of the jury in a higher court of law.
Court Representation for a DUI in Arizona
For expert help, contact Todd Coolidge. A satisfied client—J. Clark—said this about his experience working with Coolidge Law Firm: “. . .No jail time, no DUI, no probation, and no change on my insurance. . . I only had to attend one court hearing while Mr. Coolidge took care of everything else.” Don’t hesitate. Get the best help in Arizona on your side.
Photo from QuoteInspector.com