Vertical IDs no longer a Deterrent for Purchasing Alcohol in Arizona
Last Updated on
The younger, college-aged readers out there may already know this, but legislation that went into effect a little over a year ago had made it a little more difficult to purchase alcohol for those with the wrong kind of identification. If the customer in question still had their vertical oriented driver’s license or ID, liquor sales were prohibited by law even if the ID indicated that the customer was in fact 21 or older. This law was enforced by a potential fine of $1,000 for anyone serving alcohol to a customer with an ID that was the wrong shape.
In Arizona, once you turn 21 years old, you can go to your local MVD or order your new horizontal ID from the government website. However, many people from other states and those who just had never bothered to get their new ID have been denied service by liquor stores and bars because of this law.
On April 6th, 2016 Governor Doug Ducey signed an emergency provision that immediately eliminated this rule. As of this date it is now legal to purchase alcohol with any state ID or driver’s license regardless of orientation as long as you are over the age of 21. This is good news for those with out-of-state licenses or those who just didn’t want to deal with the hassle of getting their IDs turned.
If you are facing criminal charges involving the purchase or consumption of alcohol in Arizona, like DUI in Chandler, contact Certified Criminal Law Specialist Todd Coolidge today to get the defense you deserve! 480-264-5111
*The information in this blog is for general information purposes only. This blog post should not be taken to constitute a formal recommendation or professional advice. We exclude all representations, warranties, legal liability or responsibility relating to its content.
Images used under creative commons license – commercial use (4/13/2016) Phillip Pessar (Flickr)