Second Offenders: Repeat DUI Charges in Arizona
Last Updated on
As we’ve mentioned in previous posts, Arizona has some of the harshest DUI laws in the entire country. So it goes without saying that second offenders aren’t treated any nicer. Maybe you made a mistake when you were younger and ended up pleading guilty to DUI in Arizona, but are now facing DUI charges for the second time due to Arizona’s aggressive DUI enforcement. Even if you only had a single drink with dinner and were fine to drive it’s likely you will get pulled over because Arizona police are extra aggressive when patrolling for people with previous DUI arrests.
All DUI charges are serious, but it’s absolutely vital to have the aid of a certified criminal defense specialist when facing repeat DUI charges in Arizona. The following are the penalties one can expect to face when convicted of DUI for the second time in seven years.
- A minimum of around 3 months in jail, with a maximum sentence of 6 months. However, if you have a blood alcohol count between .15 and .199 there may be a mandatory minimum of 120 days. If your blood alcohol level is over .20, that mandatory minimum increases to 180 days.
- A minimum of 30 hours of community service.
- Your driver’s license will be suspended for an entire year. When you do get your license back, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle(s).
- A minimum of $500 but up to $2,500 in fines, plus the possibly additional surcharges.
- It is likely you will have to participate in alcohol and drug evaluations and treatment.
*The information in this blog is for general information purposes only. This blog post should not be taken to constitute a formal recommendation or professional advice. We exclude all representations, warranties, legal liability or responsibility relating to its content.
Images used under creative commons license – commercial use (11/1/2016) Jeffrey Smith (Flickr)