What You Should Do if Pulled Over for a DUI in Arizona

pulled over for dui - police car

What You Should Do if Pulled Over for a DUI in Arizona

Last Updated on

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail

 

Being pulled over for any reason can be an anxious experience, particularly if it is for a DUI. Not only does the immediate fear of potentially being booked strike, but having a DUI on your record comes with some severe consequences. So if you’re pulled over for a DUI, what should you do?

DUI Classifications

DUI’s are classified by a person’s blood alcohol content (BAC) and the circumstances surrounding the offense. It’s important to know that any trace of BAC for those younger than 21 is considered an automatic DUI. DUI classifications for those older than 21 are as follows:

  • Standard DUI: BAC of 0.08% or higher; or a BAC of 0.4% or higher if driving a commercial vehicle.
  • Extreme DUI: BAC between 0.15% and 0.199%.
  • Super Extreme DUI: BAC of 0.20% or higher.
  • Aggravated DUI: a DUI committed while a person has a suspended or canceled driver’s license; a 3rd DUI offense within 7 years; or a DUI committed with a passenger under the age of 15 in the vehicle.

What If You’re Pulled Over for a DUI?

Follow standard procedures for being pulled over. Most of us probably won’t attempt to run from the cops, but if you have been drinking, you might not be acting in your right mind. Here is a full list of actions you should take if you’ve been pulled over for any reason.

Know your rights. If you are pulled over by a police officer and questioned about your alcohol consumption, you have the right to remain silent and request to speak with an attorney. Examples of questions you can refuse to answer include whether you’ve been drinking, if the officer can shine a pin light in your eyes, or being asked to walk a line or stand on one foot. It will feel awkward to decline to answer, but it is your Fifth Amendment Right to not incriminate yourself.

You can refuse a Preliminary Breath Test (PBT). The results of a PBT are not admissible in court. This test is used to provide cause for arrest. From a legal standpoint, we recommend politely refusing to take a PBT.

Call a DUI attorney immediately. If you are pulled over for suspected DUI, remain calm, remember your rights and contact a certified criminal law specialist like Todd Coolidge immediately: 480-264-5111.

DUI Attorney in Arizona

Arizona criminal defense attorney, Todd Coolidge, has over 25 years of experience in criminal law and has handled thousands of DUI cases in Chandler, Mesa, Tempe, Phoenix and Gilbert, Arizona. As an experienced DUI attorney, he and his team will personally work with you to bring the best possible defense of your case to court.

 

Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash (6/20/2020)

 

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail