Felony: Driving Under the Influence
Last Updated on
Arizona takes driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol seriously. And though charges can result in harsh penalties, the specific penalties involved will depend on your driving history. If you find yourself being charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Arizona, contact Coolidge Law. We are your criminal defense specialists serving Phoenix, Chandler, Gilbert, Scottsdale, and surrounding areas.
What is a DUI?
DUI can also be called Driving While Intoxicated, or DWI. If you’re stopped for suspicion of DUI/DWI, a measurement of your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) will be taken. That measurement is used in determining whether or not you’ll be charged. If charged, the BAC will also determine the classification of your charge. The following list delineates the varying classifications for a DUI in Arizona.
The higher the blood alcohol concentration, the harsher the penalties. When stopped on suspicion of a DUI, if you fail or refuse to take a test, your driver’s license will be suspended immediately by the DMV. That suspension can range from 12-24 months. The least charge for a DUI is a first-time standard DUI charge of ten days in jail and more than $1,000.00 in fines. The greatest DUI charge is for an aggravated DUI and can be as much as two years in prison and more than $3,000.00 in fines.
If you are faced with felony DUI charges in Arizona, Coolidge Law is ready to talk. We’re experienced, we’re knowledgeable, and we care. Give us a call today.
Images used under creative commons license – commercial use (11/1/2017) Chris Gilmore (Flickr)