07 Sep DUI Laws in Arizona: Harshest in the United States
You may have heard this before, but Arizona has some of the most severe DUI laws in the country. Another study released by WalletHub has put our great home state, the Grand Canyon State, at the top of the list when it comes to fines, criminal penalties, and a number of other categories relating to drinking and driving.
For example, in Arizona, a DUI can put you behind bars for up to 4 months. For repeat offenders that prison time can increase to multiple years. In contrast, South Dakota has the most lenient DUI laws with no minimum sentence for first or second time offenders. Here are some additional factors that put Arizona at the top of the list.
- In Arizona, the minimum jail time for first time offenders is 10 days and 90 days for second time offenders.
- An ignition interlock device is mandatory in Arizona after the first conviction of a BAC of .08%.
- The ignition interlock mandatory period in Arizona is 1 year.
- The minimum fine for a first time conviction is $750 and the minimum for a second conviction is $1,750.
- A DUI is an automatic felony in Arizona beginning with the third offense.
Are you facing strict DUI laws in Arizona? Contact Certified Criminal Law Specialist Todd Coolidge immediately to have the best chance at protecting your rights and keep you out of prison.
*The information in this blog is for general information purposes only. This blog post should not be taken to constitute a formal recommendation or professional advice. We exclude all representations, warranties, legal liability or responsibility relating to its content.
Images used under creative commons license – commercial use (9/1/2016) KOMUnews (Flickr)