Disorderly Conduct in Arizona
Last Updated on
Coolidge Law has been serving Gilbert, Phoenix, and surrounding areas for more than 25 years. During that time we have seen many cases of disorderly conduct in Arizona, and we’re confident in our approach to representing our clients. We’ve got the experience you need to handle your case.
As a state, Arizona is unique in its disorderly conduct classifications. Here is what you need to know if you’ve been charged with disorderly conduct.
What Is Considered Disorderly Conduct in Arizona?
Disorderly conduct, as laid out in A.R.S 13-2904 on the Arizona Legislature website, encompasses all actions committed with the intent of disrupting or disturbing the peace of a neighborhood, family or person. The list includes but is not limited to:
- Engaging in fighting, violent or seriously disruptive behavior
- Unreasonable noise
- Abusive or offensive language or gestures
- Recklessly displaying or discharging a deadly weapon
- Failure to obey lawful orders to disperse for the purpose of maintaining public safety
Do I need a Lawyer for a Disorderly Conduct Charge in Arizona?
In the event that you’re charged with disorderly conduct, your best step to a successful defense is to contact an experienced defense attorney. Trying to go it alone before a judge could lead to a stiffer penalty, and even to doing time in jail.
In most cases, a disorderly conduct charge in Arizona is a class 1 misdemeanor, the highest level misdemeanor possible. Sentencing can include up to 6 months in jail, 3 years probation, and a $2,500 fine. If a firearm is involved a disorderly conduct charge may be elevated to a class 6 felony.
At Coolidge Law, we know being charged with a crime is frightening and creates uncertainty about your future. Let our experienced team find the best defense for your disorderly conduct charge; make your consultation today.
Images used under creative commons license – commercial use (3/5/2018) Chris Yarzab (Flickr)