Arizona Gun Control Laws

Todd Coolidge Law Firm

21 Apr Arizona Gun Control Laws

Gun control is a hot topic in America these days. Regardless of your political stance, Todd Coolidge Law Firm would like to address from a legal standpoint, the gun control laws in Arizona. What are your rights as a resident of the Grand Canyon State, as it pertains to owning and carrying a gun?  

Who Can Carry

Arizona gun control laws are among the least restrictive in the nation; that’s what makes our sunny state “firearm-friendly.” But the first question to ask when you’re thinking about carrying a weapon is, “Am I eligible under the law to carry a weapon?” Arizona follows federal law (18 U.S.C. § 922[g][1-9]) in this particular instance, which prohibits certain persons from carrying a firearm at any time. For a list of who is forbidden to carry by law, click on this link. If you are unlawfully found in possession of a firearm, you may face up to ten years imprisonment and/or a $250,000 fine.

Once you’ve determined that you can lawfully carry a weapon, you must meet the age requirement of being least 18 years old to openly carry, and 21 years old to carry a concealed weapon—and neither require a permit. While you are not required to carry a permit, taking the law into consideration, Todd Coolidge Law Firm strongly recommends applying for a Concealed Carry Weapon Permit (CCW). Here are the reasons why:

  1. Arizona CCW Permit Holders are permitted by law to carry in 37 other states with reciprocity, while in possession of a permit, and providing you follow the gun laws of that state.
  2. Arizona CCW Permit Holders may enter a commercial establishment that serves alcohol while carry-concealed and in possession of your permit, provided the establishment allows firearms on their property.
  3. Arizona CCW Permit Holders do not have a waiting period when purchasing a new firearm. In addition, you may forgo the NICS background check as your background has thoroughly been checked when applying for the CCW Permit.
  4. A CCW Permit, under Federal Law, is required in order to possess a concealed weapon within 1000 feet of a school ground.

 

Where Can I Lawfully Carry?

There are a few places that are off-limits for any person carrying a concealed weapon in Arizona (with or without a permit). They are:

  • In a Liquor retail store with a posted a sign prohibiting weapons
  • On the grounds of any school
  • Polling places on election day
  • Correctional facilities
  • Nuclear or hydroelectric generating stations.
  • Any establishment or event open to the public where the operator makes a reasonable request for you to give them custody of, or to remove the weapon from the premises. A sign would qualify as such a request.
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Carrying a weapon should always be done with careful consideration, and with the necessary skills training. And it’s best to do so with a permit. And to mention, if you commit a crime and are found in possession of a gun, your sentence will be more severe. For more information on how to legally protect yourself when carrying a weapon, or if you have been charged with unlawfully carrying a weapon, make a consultation appointment with Todd Coolidge Law Firm today, for a solid, thorough defense.

 

Images used under creative commons license – commercial use (4/21/2018) Hank Hession (Flickr)