Who is Required to Register as a Sex Offender in Arizona?
Last Updated on
Arizona is a state that imposes harsh punitive measures on sex offenders, particularly when the crime involves a minor. In addition to jail time and fines, many sex offenses require lifetime registration as a sex offender. For this reason, if you’ve been arrested or charged as a sex offender in Arizona, it’s important to speak with a criminal defense attorney with experience in representing those accused of sex crimes.
The State of Arizona takes it upon itself to maintain a sex offender website that is updated on a regular basis. On this website, you can search for sex offenders; download a complete list of offenders (a fee is required); research sex offense laws in Arizona; and access other resources related to the subject.
Which Sex Offenses Require Registration?
The list of criminal offenses that might require a person to register as a sex offender in Arizona is extensive. The Arizona State Senate lists 21 specific offenses that require a convicted person to register as a sex offender.
1. Unlawful imprisonment of another person if the victim is under 18 years of age;
2. Kidnapping if the victim is under 18 years of age;
3. Sexual abuse if the victim is under 18 years of age;
4. Sexual conduct with a minor;
5. Sexual assault;
6. Sexual assault of a spouse;
7. Molestation of a child;
8. Continuous sexual abuse of a child;
9. Taking a child for the purpose of prostitution;
10. Child prostitution;
11. Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor;
12. Sexual exploitation of a minor;
13. Luring a minor for sexual exploitation;
14. Aggravated luring of a minor for sexual exploitation;
15. Unlawful age misrepresentation for the purpose of committing a sexual offense;
16. Sex trafficking of a minor;
17. A second or subsequent violation of indecent exposure to a person under 15 years of age;
18. A second or subsequent violation of public sexual indecency to a minor under the age of 15;
19. A third or subsequent violation of indecent exposure;
20. A third or subsequent violation of public sexual indecency;
21. Violations relating to the failure to register as a sex offender.
Assessing Risk Level
When a convicted sex offender is released from jail they are given a risk assessment to determine the threat they may pose to the community. There are three levels which impact registration and notification requirements.
Persons in this level pose the least risk. Their records are maintained by police and notice is only given to those who live in the same home as the offender.
Level two offenders are considered at risk for re-offending, and notification is given to the immediate surrounding neighborhoods, schools, and community groups where the offender resides. The offender’s employer is also notified.
Level three offenders are assessed to be at the greatest risk of becoming a repeat offender. In addition to level two notification, flyers are distributed with the offender’s name, address, phone number, and a summary of their criminal record. A press release is also given to local news stations and newspapers.
Failure to register as a sex offender is a class 4 felony in Arizona.
Hire a Certified Criminal Law Specialist
If you’ve been charged with a sex crime; have questions about registering as a sex offender in Arizona; or need information on how to lawfully abide in Arizona as a convicted sex offender—call Todd Coolidge Law Firm today: 480-656-8399.
Images used under creative commons license – commercial use (3/11/2019) Pixabay