Misdemeanor Classifications & Sentencing in Arizona
Last Updated on
If you’ve been charged with a misdemeanor in Arizona, this post will tell you what you need to know about misdemeanor classifications and their sentencings. Since we’re criminal law specialists who have been serving Gilbert, Chandler, and Mesa Arizona for over 25 years, at Coolidge Law Firm we know how to handle your misdemeanor case.
What is The Difference Between a Misdemeanor and a Felony?
This is a very common question we’ve been asked at Coolidge Law Firm, and we would like to unpack it a bit for you. Every state will vary slightly in its determination of a felony or misdemeanor. Arizona is one of America’s states unique in its classifications and sentencing of felonies. In our state, any sentence requiring time in a State Prison is automatically considered a felony. Generally speaking, a felony is a crime of a more severe nature and carries with it a greater punishment. Felonies usually carry a minimum of 12 months in prison.
A misdemeanor, however, is a crime of a less severe nature, and as a result, it is less punishable as a crime. Read on to understand more about misdemeanors in Arizona.
Misdemeanor Classifications in Arizona
There are three legal classifications of misdemeanors in Arizona, with class one being the most serious, and class three being the least serious. Some examples of misdemeanors in Arizona include, but are not limited to:
- Criminal trespassing
- Theft of property below a certain value
- Non-aggravated DUI
- Underage drinking
- Possession of drug paraphernalia
- Possession of Marijuana for personal use
Misdemeanor Sentencing in Arizona
If you happen to be charged with a misdemeanor in Arizona these are the potential maximums you might face:
- For a class 1 misdemeanor: 0-3 years unsupervised probation; up to a $2,500 fine plus surcharges; 0-6 months in jail.
- For a class 2 misdemeanor: 0-2 years unsupervised probation; up to a $750 fine plus surcharges; 0-4 months in jail.
- For a class 3 misdemeanor: 0-1 years unsupervised probation; up to a $500 fine plus surcharges; 0-30 days in jail.
If you’re facing criminal charges, it’s critical to have a trustworthy Certified Criminal Law Specialist in your corner to defend your rights. Todd Coolidge has years of experience and a proven track record of success. Whatever your misdemeanor charge, with Todd and his associates on your side from the start, you increase your chances of getting off with a lighter sentence. Call us today 480-264-5111.
Images used under creative commons license – commercial use (3/15/2018) Valerie Everett (Flickr)