Armed Robbery in Arizona

robbery, law

20 Sep Armed Robbery in Arizona

One of the first lessons that parents, teachers and other adults impart to us in childhood is not to take things that don’t belong to us. Despite this being a widely-taught cultural value, the concept still seems to get lost on numerous individuals who persist in believing that if they see something they want, they can take it. Armed robbery is a serious crime that leads to a felony offense, with the class based on the aggravated circumstances surrounding it. Coolidge Law specializes in criminal defense for those who have found themselves on the wrong side of law enforcement. We are located in Gilbert, Arizona, serving Mesa, Chandler, Scottsdale and Phoenix areas.

What is Armed Robbery?

An act of armed robbery occurs when an individual forcefully takes the property of another person against their will, and with a measure of threat to their safety. The action includes threats or coercion forcing the victim to surrender their property, and discouraging them from resistance.

Charges

Depending on the circumstances surrounding the crime of armed robbery, there are two separate classes of felonies that could be charged. If the defendant threatens or coerces an individual into surrendering their property, it is considered a Class 4 felony. The threat or force can be as simple as someone saying “give me your wallet, or else.” That is sufficient to qualify as a threat or coercion into gaining property that is not theirs.

Another charge could be incurred if the defendant has an accomplice with them during the course of committing the robbery; this is considered a Class 3 felony. This is a more serious crime than an armed robbery where the defendant is acting on their own.

Punishment

As the classes of the crime committed can vary based on the circumstances surrounding the crime, the punishment for the crime can also vary. Since there are two classes of felonies in the mix, they each have a standard of presumptive sentencing that is related to the level of crime. The presumptive sentencing depending on the class is as follows.

  • Class 3 Felony: The minimum sentence for Class 3 felonies is 3.5 years in prison with the aggravated sentencing being up to 8.75 years, with probation possibilities.
  • Class 4 Felony: Initial sentencing for Class 4 includes imprisonment for 2.5 years to 3.75 years, with the possibility of probation.

An aggravated charge on top of the initial robbery increases the charges to the more severe Class 3 felony. It is imperative to recognize the charges and presumptive sentencing that occurs with each charge in order to build a strategic defense.

For more information on ways to build a strategic defense for the current charges against you, contact Coolidge Law today!

 

Images used under creative commons license – commercial use (9/13/2017) Paul Townsend (Flickr)